The companions quartet series

The companions quartet series DEFAULT
Secret of the Sirens
  • Length:

    4 Books

  • First:

    February 2006

  • Latest:

    September 2007

  • Rating:

Series List in Order

Book Descriptions for series: The Companions Quartet

  • Secret of the Sirens
    Secret of the Sirens

    Book - 1

    HIDDEN IN OUR WORLD ARE EXTRAORDINARY CREATURES -- AND THE DANGERS THAT COULD DESTROY THEM FOREVER. When Connie Lionheart is sent to live with her eccentric aunt by the sea, she's not expecting anything great -- not to make friends with Col, the coo...


  • The Gorgon's Gaze
    The Gorgon's Gaze

    Book - 2

    THE GORGON'S GAZE is the second book in The Companions Quartet by Nestle Prize-winning author Julia Golding. Connie Lionheart's great-aunt and uncle try to take her away from the reach of the Society for the Protection of Mythical Creatures. What the...


  • Mines of the Minotaur
    Mines of the Minotaur

    Book - 3

    "The clock continued to tick calmly in the hall, out of step with the stormy sea of panic surging inside Connie. She could make no sense of this. How had she ended up on the beach? She felt a hum in her bones as if she had been meeting with some powe...


  • The Chimera's Curse
    The Chimera's Curse

    Book - 4

    It's a long hot summer. Temperatures are soaring and a strange creature has been spotted on Dartmoor. Connie Lionheart and her friends soon discover that the creature is a chimera. When it attacks Connie, leaving her gravely wounded, Col and Rat must...


Sours: https://www.fictiondb.com/series/the-companions-quartet-julia-golding~16305.htm

Companions Quartet Series

"Col felt a stab of fear in his stomach. The Sirens were now close enough for him to see their crimson mouths open in a scream, pale faces blazing with white-hot anger, their bird claws tearing at the air."

When 11-year-old Connie is sent to live with her eccentric aunt by the sea, she’s not expecting anything great - not to make friends with Col, the coolest guy in town, and certainly not to discover that mythical creatures still exist, that an ancient society has protected them for centuries, and that a dark and treacherous force is lurking in their midst. Most of all, she doesn’t expect to learn that she has the rarest of talents, greater even than her secret ability to communicate with animals. With Col’s help, she could achieve unimaginable power - and face the terrifying choices that come with it.

In the tradition of Eragon, A Wrinkle in Time, and The Golden Compass, the first book in the Companions Quartet is a boldly original adventure that will ignite the imaginations and emotions of fantasy readers everywhere.

©2006 Julia Golding (P)2018 Julia Golding Sours: https://www.audible.com/series/Companions-Quartet-Series-Audiobooks/B08BC73NNT
  1. Vanity bath bar light
  2. Overlord s2 e2
  3. Garfield car decal
  4. Favorite staffing contract
  5. Background drum beats

Companions Quartet

Companions Quartet is a book series by Julia Golding,[1] a British author who is also the author of the Cat Royal series.[2] The majority of the series takes place in the fictional town of Hescombe in England.

Plot summaries[edit]

Secret of the Sirens[edit]

Connie Lionheart is sent to live with her eccentric aunt Evelyn who she finds out is part of an organisation called the Society for the Protection of Mythical Creatures (or just the Society for short). Each person in the Society has a compatibility with a specific mythical creature. Connie finds out that she is a universal companion, someone who had compatibility with all mythical creatures, and that she is the first one in almost a century. The Society's main purpose is to protect mythical creatures from being exposed to humans, something which has become increasingly harder. Along with this problem, they also have to find a way to stop an evil shareholder shapeshifter called Kullervo who wants to wipe out all of humanity to make way for mythical creatures, and he wants Connie's help to do it.[3]

The Gorgon's Gaze[edit]

Connie's aunt Godiva and uncle Hugh arrive in Hescombe to take Connie away from Evelyn to get her away from the Society which Godiva disapproves of. Despite Connie and Evelyn's protests, they manage to isolate her at the family estate. Meanwhile, the Society is busy trying to save Mallins Wood which is home to the last remaining gorgon. Only a handful of people know of the existence of the gorgon including Col as the gorgon is his mother's companion. Kullervo tries to use Col's mother to get to Connie however his plan fails and he instead kidnaps Col. While rescuing him, Connie becomes linked with Kullervo and even though she has the opportunity, she is unable to kill him.[4]

Mines of Minotaur[edit]

Connie is unconsciously raising dangerous storms in her sleep. She initially refuses to tell anyone and swears Col to secrecy when he finds her asleep on the shore after one of the storms. She is then investigated by Mr Coddrington, who has become a new trustee in the Society. He manages to get Connie thrown out of the Society by making her look dangerous. While avoiding everyone in a bid to protect her friends, she stumbles on an abandoned mine where she finds several mythical creatures, including a minotaur, who are crippled and want Connie to heal them. Meanwhile, her friends in the Society have been trying to prove Connie's innocence. She is given an opportunity to prove her innocence at a trial but on the night of her trial, Mr Coddrington helps Kullervo kidnap Connie. Using their companion link, Kullervo starts controlling Connie's actions but her friends rescue her and help her to push Kullervo out of her mind.[5]

The Chimera's Curse[edit]

A mysterious creature has been spotted on Dartmoor which Connie and her friends later discover is a chimera. The creature attacks Connie, seriously wounding her, and her friends have to rescue her from hospital as she needs a magical cure. Kullervo uses Connie's injury as a chance to steal her universal power which leads to a final showdown between Connie and Kullervo.[6]

Sequel[edit]

A sequel for the Companion's Quartet called Water Thief was published in 2011. It follows the youngest universal companion, George, and his best friend Malvin, a very rude Goblin. Together, they have to help the Society stop an environmental disaster. His first mission for the Society is on Zanzibar island where he has to investigate disappearing water sprites.[7]

References[edit]

External links[edit]

Sours: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Companions_Quartet
Ep 5 - Who is Ali RA? Getting To Know The Companions - Series with Mufti Menk

My journey to becoming an author has been a roundabout one, taking in many other careers. I grew up on the edge of Epping Forest and was that dreamy kind of child who was always writing stories. After reading English at Cambridge, I decided to find out as much as I could about the wider world so joined the Foreign Office and served in Poland. My work as a diplomat took me from the high point of town twinning in the Tatra Mountains to the low of inspecting the bottom of a Silesian coal mine.

On leaving Poland, I exchanged diplomacy for academia and took a doctorate in the literature of the English Romantic Period at Oxford. I then joined Oxfam as a lobbyist on conflict issues, campaigning at the UN and with governments to lessen the impact of conflict on civilians living in war zones - a cause about which I still feel very passionate.

Married with three children, I now live in Oxford between two rivers, surrounded by gargoyles, beautiful sandstone buildings and ancient trees.

My first novel, 'The Diamond of Drury Lane', won the Waterstone's Children's Book Prize 2006 and the Nestle Children's Book Prize 2006 (formerly known as the Smarties Prize). I was also chosen by Waterstone's in 2007 as one of their 'Twenty-five authors for the future'. In the US, 'Secret of the Sirens' won the honor book medal of the Green Earth Book Award.

My latest book is The Curious Crime - a murder-mystery set in an amazing science museum. There may be dodos and cake too!

Read more on Amazon's Julia Golding page
Sours: https://www.amazon.com/gp/bookseries/B00CKCUUWE

Companions series the quartet

.

Skyrim (Ambient Medley) — The Companions' Quest (with Mountain Ambience)

.

You will also be interested:

.



488 489 490 491 492